I think this is going to work out allllllriiiiiight.

I signed up the other day with a company called YourMusic.com. Basically, it’s a new service from the people at Columbia House (which is a service I despise to be perfectly honest) and here is how it works: you sign up for an account at no cost. Then, you browse their catalog* and add music to your “queue.” After you’ve added a few items, you’ll then be sent your first item in queue within a couple of days. The price of EVERY single-disc album is $5.99 and my favorite part: FREE SHIPPING. I’m really quite excited about it (therefore, the blog entry) because there are dozens upon dozens of old albums that I’ve always wanted to get but never wanted to fork over $10 or more each for them. Right now, I’ve got about 25 items in my queue consisting of the following:

Johnny Mathis, The Christmas Album | Oasis, (What’s The Story) Morning Glory? | Beck, Mutations | Oasis, Definitely Maybe | Travis, The Invisible Band | They Might Be Giants, Flood | Stone Temple Pilots, Tiny Music from the Vatican Gift Shop | Pearl Jam, Yield | Pearl Jam, vs. | Soundgarden, A-Sides | Weezer, Weezer | Weezer, Weezer (The Green Album) | The Dandy Warhols, Thirteen Tales From Urban Bohemia | The Doors, Strange Days | The Doors, Greatest Hits (Remastered) | Led Zeppelin, I (Remastered) | Led Zeppelin, II (Remastered) | Led Zeppelin, III (Remastered) | Live, V | P.O.D., Payable On Death (w/ Bonus CD) | Tom Petty, The Last DJ | U2, All That You Can’t Leave Behind | U2, Achtung Baby | Wilco, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

I also have to say that I’m quite pleased with the product thus far. For instance, I signed up on a Thursday and my first item was shipped out on Friday (did I already mention there was free shipping) and I received it on Monday. Then, I submitted a request for a certain artist to be added to the catalog (the Smashing Pumpkins if you must know) and I received a response from customer service well within 24 hours. Overall, I’m quite pleased.

Also, to be completely up front, the YourMusic.com link in the first sentence of this blog entry is actually linked through Commission Junction. Basically, if you sign up for service through YourMusic then I’ll get a small commission. Personally, I didn’t see any harm in that because A) I will always (and have already) point out programs/services that I like that I get no benefit from other than other people becoming as content as I am and B) there aren’t any other distracting ads on the site (maybe some text ads later on). Essentially, though, I need to be able to survive if I’m ever canned for blogging too much. Feel free to scorch me in the comments if you’d like although hopefully I’ll still be on your good side.

Oh, one more thing…if you’re wondering why I have a Johnny Mathis Christmas album in my queue here’s my reasons: A) I dig Christmas time and B) Johnny Mathis records the best Christmas music ever. Ever.

**As I’m sure you’re already aware, Columbia House does NOT have an up-to-date catalog of music. As an example, as of November 4th, 2005, YourMusic.com is categorizing Gorillaz’ Demon Days as a new release in the rock category when, in fact, the album dropped on May 24th, 2005.

Technorati Tags: YourMusic.com, Music

Leave a Reply

