Windows Media Player 11 & URGE.com – They’re Alive

A digg.com entry earlier posted direct links to both Windows Media Player 11 (a BETA which wasn't supposed to be released until early this coming week) as well as the new Microsoft/MTV music service, URGE.

Both apps have been successfully installed on my primary laptop but there's a certain order you need to follow. First, follow this link to download and install URGE directly from URGE.com: http://store.urge.com/launch/install/?referrer=urge. The installation for Windows Media Player 11 from within the "update" of this install failed so you'll need to download and install WMP 11 separately: http://tinyurl.com/k3buq. (xferla.com). After installing WMP 11, just launch the URGE shortcut from your desktop or start menu to access the new store…or just play around with WMP.

The new Windows Media Player is exceptionally clean and although it's a pre-BETA BETA, it's running fine for me and memory right now for it is at about 24K (I'm currently downloading and playing tracks from URGE…Smashing Pumpkins in case you were wondering.)

I'm currently looking for Microsoft BETA feedback options because I STILL don't have many options for playing/tagging/starring tracks while operating in "mini-mode…" something that annoyed the ever-living crap out of me with all previous versions of WMP.

For those who haven't already seen WMP 11 already, here are some screenshots of it running on Windows XP Pro w/SP2.

I'm curious to see what everyone thinks of the new version of Windows Media Player so feel free to leave your comments.

UPDATE: If you're concerned about your well being at all, you won't install the Napster plug-in for this BETA release…at least for now.  WMP crashed and burned after installing Napster.  It was quite sad, really.  Think Hindenburg…minus the casualties. 

6 Responses to “Windows Media Player 11 & URGE.com – They’re Alive”

  1. stephanie Says:

    Hi, my name is stephanie and Im not sure if this is th right website to be asking about urge ,but if it is could you send me an e-mail telling me th steps on how to getting an account on URGE.com

  2. stephanie Says:

    Hi, my name is stephanie and Im not sure if this is th right website to be asking about urge ,but if it is could you send me an e-mail telling me th steps on how to getting an account on URGE.com,please could you send me back an email,thank-you.

  3. tracy mccormick Says:

    your program suck very fucking bad i use the same e mail as user or tracy but my password always stays the same so why do you keep prompting that it is wrong screw you dont need it anyway tracy

  4. Ken Henderson Says:

    why can’t i dowenloadthe ‘urge’ program?

  5. Ken Henderson Says:

    I’m having trouble downloading the ‘Urge’ music program! Canyou help me?

  6. Neal Hurwitz Says:

    I have paid for this and cannot get songs!!!


Leave a Reply

